How Taking Engineering Impacted My Life

       Last year I learned so many things in engineering. Engineering is the application of the knowledge in the form of science, mathematics, and evidence to the innovation, design, construction of structures machines and materials, devices, systems, and processes.” In regular words that means using science and math, energy and matter to design materials useful for people. Almost everything that we use on a daily basis is made by engineers. not just making giant huge inventions,even the most uncomplicated things in your house could take a whole league of engineers to create and innovate.  Like bridges, elevators, and toothbrushes to the cap of a water bottle can be made by engineers. A lot of information can be fit into the category of engineering.

  8CBD3F14-085B-4996-B01F-502028A8CC60

         In the beginning of the year we learned a lot about lines and how they help us with our drawings. Line conventions are lines that are of different styles and thickness and they are usually used as specific ways to develop and communicate graphic messages about an object’s geometry. We learned about construction lines which are very lightly drawn lines that guide drawings,shapes and other lines.We also learned about the object line that is taken dark and defined so I checked. We learned about the hidden line that shows the interior detail that is not visible from the part. Another line we learned about that was not the last but one that I thought that was interesting was the extension line that shows where dimension would start and stop, it was used with dimension lines.

EF42172E-0377-4622-AE66-612851F7D38D

        We have focused very much on sketching different shapes in our  notebooks. One of the drawings that we learned was the perspective drawings, which I thought was the most intriguing and quickest to understand. The amazing thing about it is that it offers the most realistic three dimensional views of all the pictorial methods, because it portrays the object in a manner that is most similar to how the human eye perceives the visual world.

       We learned not only one point but three points. A one point was basically a simple drawing, that That is the least detailed out of the three.The two point perspective is the perspective that is most common and a lot of people know it. The three point perspective gives somebody looking at the whole picture a Birdseye view on the object which can be very useful to see a lot of interesting detail. It was my most favorite perspective to draw.

E1DB4669-C696-46E0-BCCD-58F93B7DB24D

       When I grow up I would like to be a general practitioner but if that does not work out having a career involving engineering would not be a bad second option. When I did the brochure project I was focusing on a biomedical engineer. I learned so many things about them and about how their jobs are, it really did interest me. Some of the things that interested me was how they make prosthetics for people that don’t have limbs and need them which can really help people and they even come up with new designs to better help those in need.They also have salaries that can range from 52,000 to 140,000 a year which is a very solid salary that can really help you and make you very successful in life. Over all intro to engineering has really helped me improve and my knowledge of all the objects and technology around us in society are made and invented. I am so thankful to my engineering teacher for teaching me all of this.

 

Leave a comment